PRESS RELEASE

LONDON INTERNATIONAL YOUTH SCIENCE FORUM UNITES GLOBAL STUDENT COMMUNITY TO PROMOTE SCIENCE FOR CHANGE



'LIYSF is a fantastic platform for inspiring and encouraging the young scientists of the future. It's so exciting to see students from all backgrounds and cultures coming together through a shared love of science, filled with ambition to change the world for the better.' **Jim AI-Khalili, OBE**

London, 26th February, 2020, <u>The London International Youth Science Forum (LIYSF)</u> is attended by over 500 of the world's leading young science and engineering students aged 16-21 years, selected from more than 70 countries across 6 continents. Participants include prize winners of national and international science competitions and recipients of scholarships from schools, colleges, and educational bodies, grants from industry and scientific institutions, and funding from charitable foundations.

LIYSF is a two-week residential event held at Imperial College London and The Royal Geographical Society, running from 29th July to 12th August 2020, with lectures and demonstrations from leading scientists, visits to prestigious industrial sites, research centres, scientific institutions and organisations, including the UK's foremost universities: Imperial, Oxford, Cambridge and UCL.

LIYSF 2020 key points:

- 500 exceptional science students from over 70 countries in 6 continents
- 62nd year focus is SCIENCE FOR CHANGE
- Opening lecture from Nobel Prize winner Professor James Rothman, Sterling Professor of Cell Biology at Yale University
- Closing Keynote Address from Professor Dame Julia King (Baroness Brown of Cambridge), crossbench member of the House of Lords and present Chair of the Carbon Trust
- Additional lectures from leading scientists including Astronomer Royal, Professor Lord Martin Rees, Professor Fiona Watt, Professor M. Saiful Islam FRSC, Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope and Dr Maggie Aderin-Pocock MBE
- Founded by Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Phillip HRH
- Under the Patronage of UNESCO in recognition of its contribution to developing the next generation of scientists
- <u>Strong focus on cultural interaction and diversity</u> with 49% female attendees in 2019
- Learn more about LIYSF 2020 <u>here</u>

LIYSF 2020 will address a broad and diverse range of subjects across STEM fields with the overarching theme of SCIENCE FOR CHANGE. Students will be encouraged to consider how all scientific disciplines can be used together to provide effective solutions for global challenges ranging from climate change to sustainable energy to viruses, ageing and over-population to data management, cyber-security and the authenticity of information. Through the course of the forum students will gain knowledge and skills, new connections, and diverse, global perspectives.

Richard Myhill, LIYSF Director commented: "LIYSF is a unique opportunity for the scientists of the future from across the world to come together and share ideas and build networks. Never has the need for scientific innovation been more at the forefront of the global agenda, and LIYSF is proud to play a part in inspiring the next generation of scientists."

For further information please contact:

Press: Elinor Fewster/Angela Martin <u>press@liysf.org.uk</u> LIYSF Director: Richard Myhill <u>Richard.myhill@liysf.org.uk</u>

PRESS RELEASE

LIYSF 2020 programme highlights;

- **Professor James Rothman** is the Sterling Professor of Cell Biology at Yale University, USA. He is one of the world's most distinguished biochemists and cell biologists and received the 2013 **Nobel Prize** in Physiology or Medicine. He is Chair of the Yale School of Medicine's Department of Cell Biology and Director and founder of the Yale Nanobiology Institute.
- Professor Dame Julia King (Baroness Brown of Cambridge) is an engineer, with a distinguished career across senior engineering and leadership roles in both industry and academia. She is a crossbench member of the House of Lords and present Chair of the Carbon Trust.
- **Professor Lord Martin Rees** is a world leading cosmologist and astrophysicist. He is a Fellow of Trinity College and Emeritus Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics at the University of Cambridge. He has been Astronomer Royal since 1995, is a visiting Professor at Imperial College London and at Leicester University. He was Master of Trinity College, Cambridge (2004-12) and President of the Royal Society (2005-10).
- **Professor Fiona Watt** is the director of the Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine, King's College London. Professor Watt is internationally known for detailing the mechanisms that control epidermal stem cell renewal, differentiation, and tissue aggregation. She is also known for discovering how each of those processes' regulations are removed in diseased cells. She became the first woman president of the International Society of Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) in 2008 and has advocated on behalf of women in science.
- Dr Maggie Aderin-Pocock MBE s a renowned space scientist and science educator. She regularly presents on TV and is the co-host (since 2014) of the world's longest running television series, "The Sky at Night". She is an honorary research associate in the department of physics and astronomy at University College London (UCL).
- Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope is the Pharmacist Lead for Antimicrobial Resistance at Public Health England (PHE). She is lead at PHE for HCAI and Stewardship. She also leads the Department of Health Expert Advisory Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance and Healthcare Associated Infection (ARHAI).
- Professor Clare Elwell is the Academic President of LIYSF. She is Vice-Dean for Impact and Professor of Medical Physics in the Department of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering at University College London (UCL) and is also a former participant at LIYSF. Clare is an ambassador for <u>Young Scientists for</u> <u>Africa</u> (YOSA) which offers a scholarship scheme to help young African scientists attends LIYSF.
- Professor M. Saiful Islam FRSC is Professor of Materials Chemistry at the University of Bath and recipient of the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award. His research focuses around advance computer modelling methods in the study of new solid state materials for clean energy applications, in particular with lithium (and sodium) batteries and perovskite solar cells. Professor Islam presented the 80th anniversary Royal Institution Christmas Lecture and recently served on the Diversity Committee of the Royal Society.

About LIYSF

Founded in 1959 in the aftermath of the two World Wars, LIYSF was created with the ambition to give a deeper insight into science and its applications for the benefit of all mankind and to develop a greater understanding between young people of all nations. A vital part of the experience of attending LIYSF is creating global citizens through the exchange of different cultures and traditions, and for many students visiting LIYSF offers their first opportunity to travel abroad.

For further information please contact:

Press: Elinor Fewster/Angela Martin <u>press@liysf.org.uk</u> LIYSF Director: Richard Myhill <u>Richard.myhill@liysf.org.uk</u>

PRESS RELEASE

Alumni include Dr Michael Moloney, Professor Clare Elwell, Mark Shuttleworth and Professor Richard O'Kennedy.

LIYSF enjoys the support of the UK government and British Council and each year has a welcome included from the Prime Minister. The founding Patron is the Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Phillip HRH. LIYSF receives patronage and support from UNESCO.

www.liysf.org.uk