LIYSF 2017 Programme


Please find below the outline LIYSF programme for 2017, where you will find more details about the programme on each day. Please do check back here for more information as this is regularly updated and more information is released as we draw closer. Full details are given to all confirmed participants on our programme and provided on arrival in your welcome pack.

For detailed information on 2017 please click here

Date Morning Afternoon Evening
Wed 26th July   Arrivals Welcome
Thu 27th July Opening Ceremony & Key Note Address - Professor Hayat Sindi Plenary Lecture Demonstration - Dr Fabiola Gianotti Welcome Party
Fri 28th July Visit to Research & Scientific Establishments in London - More Information Plenary Lecture Demonstration The Science Forum Bazaar - Student Project Poster Board Evening - More Information
Sat 29th July Plenary Lecture Demonstration - Jonathan Firth Optional London Sightseeing Tour and London Eye - More Information Student Topics
Sun 30th July Optional Visit to Stonehenge & Salisbury Optional Visit to Stonehenge & Salisbury Student Debate Evening
Mon 31st July Specialist Lectures - More Information Plenary Lecture Demonstration Great Crossword Treasure Hunt - More Information
Tue 1st August Visit to Research & Scientific Establishments - More Information Visit to Research & Scientific Establishments Optional Theatre Night - More Information
Wed 2nd August Specialist Study Day - More Information Specialist Study Day Plenary Lecture Demonstration
Thu 3rd August Day Visits to Oxford & Cambridge Research and Scientific Establishments - More Information Day Visits to Oxford & Cambridge Research and Scientific Establishments Rehearsals
Fri 4th August Specialist Lectures Lecture Demonstration & Visits to Museums International Cabaret – Cultural Showcase Performance Evening - More Information
Sat 5th August Plenary Lecture Demonstration LIYSF Olympics (Sports Day Session with Team Games) - More Information Plenary Lecture Demonstration - Professor Semali Perera
Sun 6th August Optional Visit: Thames River Sightseeing Cruise via Thames Barrier Optional Visit to the Tower of London Traditions of Home – Sharing World Customs and Fashion Evening - More Information
Mon 7th August Specialist Lectures Optional Visit to the State Rooms at Buckingham Palace and London Eye Optional Theatre Night
Tue 8th August Participants' Forum Closing Lecture & Ceremony Farewell Party
Wed 9th August Departures    

Pursuing a cure: HIV eureka moments

Since the beginning of the HIV epidemic, 70 million people have been infected with the virus, with 3…

The epidemic of congenital Zika virus

With the opening ceremony of the 2016 Olympic Games held in Rio de Janeiro last weekend, media from …

National Scientific Visits

LIYSF participants spent Tuesday the 2nd of August visiting various science and research establishme…